My 5 Favourite Things About 2012

We’re barely on the second half of 2012 so I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite things about this year.

5. Home Improvement

I’m a fan of DIY. To be clear, I’m not talking about macrame and scrapbooking but more along the lines of things that actually have a function other than keeping me busy. Most of the time it’s hard work but when you’re done you have something to wear or something that looks a lot nicer. So for the last three years (the entire time we’ve lived in this apartment) I’ve been planning to get rid of our ugly wallpapers. They’re beige which is pretty much all I’m going to say about them. So this summer holiday we finally got our asses in gear and started doing something about it. Now our bedroom has pretty, light blue walls that often seem to match the clouds in the evening.

4. Writers

This year I finally found people who live near me who are as excited about writing as I am. All summer long we’ve been meeting once a week to read stuff out loud and critique it. And it’s been improving my writing so much that I can’t even express it. Not to mention that it got me talking about going to Clarion or Clarion West to my hubby – something that I’ve always thought was way beyond my means – and now I’ll be going next year if they’ll have me.

3. Books

I’ve been in a reading rut for a long time. I’ve been reading only non-fiction and re-reading old favourites for so long that I just simply fell off the wagon reading-wise and have been reading only highly recommended unknown authors. Then along came Audible and Writing Excuses recommendations and I’ve since discovered so many authors whose books I really love that I can’t believe it took me this long to get back on the wagon. I did some of it last year, but this year I’ve really doubled down.

2. Nerdy Girls

Last November a new group blog was formed in Finland called Nörttitytöt – or Geek Girls in English. As of the beginning of this year I became one of the editors of the blog and have since not only learned so very much about communicating I can’t even say but have also met wonderful, gorgeous, funny and intelligent new people who have become my friends. The experience of wanting to have something happen and then stepping up to volunteer to do it has changed me so much as a person and already I’ve had many experiences because of it that I never would have had without it. I cannot recommend enough being the change you want to see.

1. Movies

The last few years have been crappy, crappy movie years. With the exception of Inception (which totally saved last year from the gutter) it was more or less all remakes and sequels and of course the obligatory not-quite-sucky Lindeloff film. This year however… we’ve got the last Nolan Batman (which doesn’t count as a sequel since the previous wasn’t just a rehashing of the first one), with not one but two Snow White movies, Brave, Wreck-it-Ralph and so on. Not to mention that this summer saw the announcement of Maleficent, which is a Disney movie based on the life of one of my favourite villains of all time, the titular Maleficent. It’s been written by the lady who brought us Mulan and the Lion King and none other than Angelina Jolie will be playing Maleficent. I’m all a flutter about the news already.

So what are your favourite things about 2012?

Leave a Reply

